Jose C. Florez, M.D., Ph.D.

Jose Florez is Chief of the Endocrine Division and  Diabetes Unit at the Massachusetts General Hospital , where he holds the John T. Potts Jr., MD Endowed Chair in Medicine.  He is also a Professor at Harvard Medical School, and an Institute Member at the Broad Institute, where he directs the Diabetes Research Group, co-directs the Program in Metabolism , and is active in the Program in Medical and Population Genetics.

He and his group have contributed to the performance and analysis of high-throughput genome-wide association and sequencing studies in type 2 diabetes and related traits, in international consortia such as MAGIC, GENIE, DIAGRAM, T2D-GENES , AMP-T2D,  SIGMA, and RADIANT, where he plays management roles. He leads the genetic research efforts of the Diabetes Prevention Program and the GRADE clinical trial, where the effects of genetic variants on the development of diabetes can be examined prospectively, and their impact on specific behavioral and pharmacological preventive interventions can be assessed. He is the Principal Investigator of the Study to Understand the Genetics of the Acute Response to Metformin and Glipizide in Humans (SUGAR-MGH), and also conducts other pharmacogenetic studies at MGH. He is an author on 200+ original publications and 60+ reviews/book chapters.

In addition to his research and teaching duties, he is clinically active in the MGH Diabetes Center, the Endocrine inpatient consult service, the Medicine service, and the Down Syndrome Program. He serves on the Editorial Boards for Human Genetics, and has been on Editorial Boards for Diabetes, Diabetologia, and the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism; he is also the Editor-in-Chief for Current Diabetes Reports .  He is an inducted member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians, and the recipient of the MGH Physician Scientist Development Award, a Doris Duke Charitable Foundation Clinical Scientist Development Award, the MGH Department of Medicine Stephen Krane Award, the MGH Research Scholars Award, and the 2010 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. In 2019 he received the Father of the Year award from the American Diabetes Association.